Skip to content
United Arab Emirates · Independent banking directory
UAE Banks Directory Banks · Products · Branches
Compare
Guide

Zero-Balance and No-Minimum-Balance Bank Accounts in the UAE

Written by UAE Banks Directory editorial team ·Updated September 24, 2026

Quick answer: Yes — a few UAE banks publish accounts with no minimum-balance requirement, and at least one (ruya) states you can keep the account at AED 0 with no salary requirement and no fees. Many other accounts only waive a minimum-balance charge if you meet a condition, such as transferring your salary or keeping a set relationship balance. “No minimum balance” is not the same as “no fees,” and eligibility and terms differ by bank — always confirm the current terms on the bank’s own page before you apply.

Advertisement

Key takeaways

  • Some UAE accounts genuinely require no minimum balance; others only waive the requirement conditionally. The two are not the same and we keep them in separate tables below.
  • Verified examples with no minimum-balance requirement today: ruya Current Account, FAB iSave, and the mbank Gold account — each confirmed on the bank’s own website.
  • “No minimum balance” does not mean “free.” Check the schedule of charges for other fees.
  • Digital does not mean zero-balance. Some app-based accounts still carry balance or income conditions.
  • The most-searched term in this space is “HSBC zero balance account,” yet HSBC’s UAE current-account pages do not publish a no-minimum-balance product — a good example of why a search trend is not proof an account exists.
  • Rates, fees and eligibility can change without notice. This page lists what each bank published on the date we checked it.

What “zero-balance account” actually means in the UAE

People use “zero-balance account” loosely, but banks use three quite different arrangements. Getting the distinction right is the difference between an account you can genuinely leave empty and one that quietly charges you when the balance drops.

  • True zero-balance account. The bank explicitly lets you hold AED 0 with no minimum-balance requirement at all. There is nothing to maintain and no fall-below charge to trigger.
  • No minimum-balance requirement. The bank states there is no minimum monthly or account balance to maintain. In practice this is the same day-to-day outcome as a true zero-balance account, though the bank may word it differently for a current versus a savings product.
  • Conditional waiver. A minimum balance (or a fall-below fee) does apply, but the bank waives it if you meet a condition — a salary transfer, a minimum relationship balance, a specific package, a digital-only account rule, or a promotional period. Miss the condition and the charge returns.

We only place an account in the “no minimum-balance” table when the bank itself uses that language. A conditional waiver is listed separately, with its condition spelled out. We do not relabel a conditional account as “zero-balance.”

UAE bank accounts with no minimum-balance requirement

Each account below was confirmed on the bank’s own website on the date shown. Where a bank does not publish a figure, we mark it Not stated rather than guess. This is a neutral list in alphabetical order by bank — not a ranking.

Bank / account Balance requirement Salary requirement Monthly / min-balance fee Key condition Verified
FAB — iSave Account (savings) No minimum balance requirement None stated Not stated Digital savings account; UAE resident with a valid Emirates ID 24 Sep 2026 · bankfab.com
mbank — Gold account (Al Maryah Community Bank) No minimum balance required (Gold tier) Not stated Not stated App-based; opened with UAE PASS 24 Sep 2026 · mbank.ae
ruya — Current Account (Islamic) No minimum balance None (“no salary requirement”) None (“no fees”); no minimum deposit to open Digital-first, app-based; Shari’ah-compliant; UAE resident, 18+, opened with UAE PASS 24 Sep 2026 · ruyabank.ae

For the full record on each provider, see the bank pages for First Abu Dhabi Bank, Al Maryah Community Bank (mbank) and ruya, or browse the full UAE bank-accounts directory.

Accounts where the minimum balance is waived conditionally

These accounts advertise “no minimum-balance charges,” but a condition applies. They belong in a separate group because the outcome depends on you meeting the bank’s requirement.

Bank / account Balance requirement Salary / deposit condition Min-balance fee Key condition Verified
FAB — One Account (current) Advertised as “no minimum balance charges” AED 10,000 minimum monthly salary (salaried) or AED 10,000 initial deposit (non-salaried) No minimum-balance charges stated UAE resident. A separate AED 10,000 average balance applies only to earn rewards, not to hold the account. 24 Sep 2026 · bankfab.com

The FAB One Account shows why the distinction matters: there is no fall-below charge, but you cannot open it as a true empty account — you need the salary or the opening deposit first.

What happens if you fall below the required balance?

On an account that carries a minimum balance, dropping below it typically triggers a fall-below fee — a monthly charge the bank applies until the balance recovers or the waiver condition is met again. The exact amount is set in each bank’s schedule of charges, and it is one of the most common surprises on a “free” account.

On the no-minimum-balance accounts in the first table, there is no threshold to fall below, so this charge does not apply. That is the practical value of a genuine no-minimum account: an empty balance is simply an empty balance, not a fee event. Always read the bank’s current schedule of charges, because a fall-below fee is separate from other account fees.

Salary-transfer accounts vs non-salary accounts

A salary-transfer account is one where your employer pays your salary into the account, and the bank ties benefits — or a fee waiver — to that transfer. A non-salary account does not require an employer transfer at all.

The difference matters for this topic because a “no fees if you transfer your salary” account is a conditional waiver, not a no-minimum-balance account. If your salary stops arriving — you change jobs, or you are between contracts — the waiver can lapse and the minimum-balance rule can return. The verified accounts in the first table (ruya, FAB iSave, mbank Gold) do not depend on a salary transfer to keep the no-minimum position, which is what separates them from salary-linked products.

Can expats open a zero-balance account in the UAE?

Based on the verified accounts above, yes — but as a UAE resident. Each of ruya, FAB iSave and mbank states eligibility for UAE residents with a valid Emirates ID (ruya and mbank open the account through UAE PASS). None of these three pages states a minimum salary to open the account. Residency, an Emirates ID, and being 18 or over are the common requirements. We have not verified a specific no-minimum product for non-residents here; non-resident account rules differ and should be confirmed directly with the bank.

Can you open one without a salary?

Yes, for the no-minimum accounts that do not require a salary. ruya explicitly states “no salary requirement,” and FAB iSave (a savings account) lists no minimum salary. mbank’s Gold account does not state a salary requirement. That is different from an account like FAB One, which needs an AED 10,000 salary or a AED 10,000 deposit before it opens. If you have no salary to transfer, the accounts to look at are the ones that state no salary requirement — then confirm the current terms before applying.

Digital-bank options: Wio, mbank and ruya

The UAE’s newer app-based banks are often assumed to be zero-balance by default. They are not automatically the same thing, so we only state what each bank publishes.

  • ruya — its current account is stated as no minimum balance, no salary requirement and no fees, and it is Shari’ah-compliant. See ruya.
  • mbank (Al Maryah Community Bank) — states no minimum balance required for the Gold account, opened via the app with UAE PASS. See mbank.
  • Wio — Wio Personal is app-based (“0 branch visits, 0 paperwork”), but its public pages we checked did not state a minimum-balance term, so we do not classify it here. Its balance terms would need confirming in Wio’s schedule of charges.

The takeaway: treat “digital” and “zero-balance” as two separate questions. An app-based account can still carry a balance or income condition, and only the bank’s own terms settle it.

Heavily searched, but not a published product

The single most-searched query in this space is for an “HSBC zero balance account.” When we checked HSBC’s UAE current-account pages, none published a no-minimum-balance or zero-balance product — the current accounts listed (such as Premier and Advance) did not state a no-minimum position, and one is described only as having “no monthly fee.” A popular search does not, on its own, prove an account exists on those terms. If you specifically want an HSBC account, confirm the balance rules for the exact product on HSBC’s own page or key facts statement. We have not included HSBC in the verified table because the no-minimum wording is not published.

The same caution applies to several well-known accounts — including some from Emirates NBD’s Liv, Mashreq NEO and RAKBANK — whose landing pages we checked did not state a minimum-balance figure. That does not mean they carry one; it means the balance term lives in the key facts statement or schedule of charges, and we do not list a figure we have not seen at source.

How to choose between these accounts

This is not a “best account” ranking, and no single account is right for everyone. When you compare, look at the factual points side by side:

  • Balance requirement — genuinely no minimum, or a conditional waiver?
  • Fees — beyond the minimum balance, what does the schedule of charges list (card fees, transfer fees, statement fees)?
  • Salary condition — does the no-minimum position depend on a salary transfer that could lapse?
  • Access — app-only, or branch access too, and does that suit how you bank?
  • Eligibility — residency, Emirates ID, minimum age, and any income test to open.

Confirm each of these on the bank’s own page for the exact product, because the same bank can offer one account with no minimum and another with a high one.

How we verified this information

UAE Banks Directory is an independent directory. For this guide, every account in the tables was checked against the bank’s own official website on 24 September 2026, and we recorded the exact wording each bank publishes. Where a bank does not publish a figure, we show Not stated rather than infer one. We did not use comparison sites, search snippets or third-party lookups as factual sources — those can be out of date or wrong, and a reference site is only useful if its numbers are right. Accounts we could not confirm at source are named honestly rather than listed with a guessed figure.

Frequently asked questions

Which UAE banks offer a no-minimum-balance account?

On the dates we checked, ruya (Current Account), FAB (iSave) and mbank (Gold account) each state no minimum-balance requirement on their own websites. Other banks may offer no-minimum accounts whose terms are published only in a key facts statement; confirm directly with the bank.

Can I open a UAE bank account without keeping a minimum balance?

Yes. Some accounts explicitly state there is no minimum balance to maintain — ruya, for example, states no minimum balance, no salary requirement and no fees. Always confirm the current terms for the specific product before applying.

Can I open an account without transferring my salary?

Yes, on accounts that do not require it. ruya states “no salary requirement,” and FAB iSave (a savings account) lists no minimum salary. This is different from salary-linked accounts, where a fee waiver depends on your salary arriving each month.

What happens if my balance falls below the minimum?

On an account that carries a minimum balance, the bank usually charges a monthly fall-below fee until the balance recovers or the waiver condition is met. On a genuine no-minimum account there is no threshold to fall below, so the charge does not apply. Check each bank’s schedule of charges for the amount.

Are zero-balance accounts free?

Not necessarily. “No minimum balance” only removes the balance requirement — it does not remove every fee. ruya states “no fees,” but other accounts may still charge for cards, transfers or other services. Read the schedule of charges.

Can UAE residents open these accounts online?

The verified accounts here are app-based for UAE residents. ruya and mbank open through UAE PASS with an Emirates ID; FAB iSave is opened through FAB’s app or online banking for residents with a valid Emirates ID.

Can non-residents open a zero-balance account in the UAE?

The accounts we verified state UAE residency. We did not confirm a specific no-minimum product for non-residents in this guide; non-resident account options and requirements differ and should be checked directly with the bank.

Is a digital-bank account the same as a zero-balance account?

No. “Digital” describes how you open and use the account; “zero balance” describes the balance rule. Some digital accounts have no minimum balance, but others carry a balance or income condition, so check each product’s terms.

Do Islamic banks offer no-minimum-balance accounts?

Yes — ruya, a Shari’ah-compliant digital bank, states no minimum balance on its current account. Other Islamic banks may offer similar accounts, but we have only listed the ones we could verify at source here.

Can banks change minimum-balance requirements?

Yes. Balance requirements, fees and eligibility can change without notice, which is why every figure on this page is dated to when we checked it. Confirm the current terms on the bank’s own page before you rely on them.

A note on accuracy

This information is published for general reference and may change without notice. Account terms, fees and eligibility are set by each bank and can be updated at any time. Accuracy is not guaranteed and no responsibility is accepted for decisions made on the basis of it. UAE Banks Directory is an independent information service — we are not a bank, we do not provide financial advice and we do not sell financial products. Always confirm the current terms directly with the bank before opening an account.


Author: UAE Banks Directory editorial team · Last reviewed: 24 September 2026 · Sources checked: 24 September 2026.
Official sources: ruya — Current Account · FAB — iSave Account · FAB — One Account · mbank (Al Maryah Community Bank). Banking in the UAE is regulated by the Central Bank of the UAE.

General information only — not financial, banking or legal advice. Verify current details with your bank or a licensed adviser before acting.
Written by UAE Banks Directory editorial team